Twin Peaks : Season 01 Episode 01

note: this is my first go around with the series.

Twin Peaks stands as one of those cult-classics that people mention to up their coolness and in-the-know points…. or they are just David Lynch dorks.  For me though, after watching The Wire and re-watching Battlestar Galactica it was time to start another TV series that held solid over time.

The pilot first episode involves a handful of characters, age groups, and relationship dynamics. The story line keeps your attention and the novel characters do the same. Yet, it can’t help but feeling hammed-up in certain character portrayals and dialogue. So far it’s like Silence of the Lambs meets General Hospital. It’ll be interesting to see how it all unfolds but I am not entirely sold.

And Log Lady she is pure gold. I doubt she will be a constant character, unfortunately.

2 Comments

Filed under tv

2 responses to “Twin Peaks : Season 01 Episode 01

  1. “Silence of the Lambs meets General Hospital” is exactly what that show is. I was struck by just how hilarious it is at times. How you can make a rural psychedelic horror soap opera/comedy/drama work (or get broadcast on a major television network for not one but two seasons) is beyond me, but I’ll be damned if Lynch and Frost didn’t pull it off.

  2. pml

    I’ve been thinking of watching this show lately, and now you write a post about it. I just may have to add this to my government shutdown to-do list.

Leave a Reply

