Why Does E=mc2?: (And Why Should We Care?) (2010)

Why Does E=mc2?: (And Why Should We Care?) has kept me up late at night and made sleep difficult. Trying to wrap my head around the make-up of the universe is no easy task. Especially for a mind admittedly weak in mathematics. Engaging and thought-provoking are the simplest terms to describe the book and it’s matter. As I read on, I slowly start to comprehend the quantumdance between particles, energy, matter, and spacetime. Einstein, his predecessors, and followers have pieced together our origins. The language is new and we’ve had less than some 150 years in making it accessible. Perhaps in another 200 the language of math and physics will be common and easy to understand, a humbled parlance of our times.

Thanks to books like this the latest news stories arising from the Large Hadron Collider, Higgs particles, space exploration, etc., are more accessible and meaningful to me. Some may find science works boring or uninformative, I believe that to be a reflection of the individual rather than a valid assessment of the content itself. Luckily, Why Does E=mc2? is written in a clear and simple manner. Lastly, I had many moments of sheer awe and out-loud exclamation.

is

3 Comments

Filed under reading

3 responses to “Why Does E=mc2?: (And Why Should We Care?) (2010)

  1. I am really glad that you read and share stuff like this. I undoubtedly would like to converse and listen to the knowledge you’ve learned on this subject. I think that my brain cannot wrap my head around this stuff. But a book like this…this is awesome.

    • I’ll try to pick up some excerpts from books I read and share them. This book while trying not to be was still very dense. It ended with the Standard Model and it blows my mind on several levels. Check it out here:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_Model

      This math equation takes into account the particles of the universe and how they behave. Unfortunately, gravity isn’t covered and that could be the missing link between quantum mechanics (really small particle interactions) and general relativity (larger objects like satellites, planets, stars, galaxies, etc. interacting with each other in space-time).

      The one thing I don’t want to do is butcher the subject.

    • If you have a chance to buy it on your ipad or whatever it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

