The Debt (2011 US)

One of the better action-espionage-thriller films to come out in a while. Without a notable action star like Bruce Willis or some such nonsense it probably won’t do very well in the US. I remain hopeful that Oscar nominations will set this right. It is certainly a complete picture: the story, filming, directing, acting, etc. are all very well done. The Debt is an edge of the seat thrill ride that not only keeps you guessing, but also offers depth and personality.

4 Comments

Filed under movies

4 responses to “The Debt (2011 US)

  1. pml

    Well I’m encouraged by your review even though Sam Worthington has ruined pretty much every movie he’s ever been in. I’ll still see this though. Holocaust movies ftw.

  2. I didn’t like it as much you did and I thought Sam Worthington struggled to play what was probably a well written character on the page…but it keep me pretty glued to the screen and had me interested for the time being. Good Review! Check out my site when you can!

    • When I left the theater I wasn’t all that enthused about The Debt. But the more I thought about the film the more I liked its pacing. The film made more sense upon thought and conversation with my girlfriend, in terms of Mirren getting down and dirty, from youthful innocence to aged lies, and to the struggles of David. Maybe I am overselling it though.

      I will definitely check out your blog too.

Leave a Reply

