A Game of Thrones: A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1

Can’t get enough of A Game of Thrones TV series? You’re in luck for the book will consume even more of your time and thoughts! You’ll want to read this with the same voracity as The Others and continue on to the next books in no time. Obviously there’s a bit more to bite into and gnaw on, compared to the show, but I’d wager that the TV program is just as well done; and in some facets even better than the books. However there is little reason to not read the books, if you enjoy the show and are not illiterate. And speaking of illiterates- Hodor!

3 Comments

Filed under reading

3 responses to “A Game of Thrones: A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1

  1. So I’m part way through and I’m really enjoying it but I’m not sure I want to read the rest of the books before I see the TV series. Are you going to read books 3-5 before the shows, concurrently, or do you not care?

    • Friends of P

      I’ve always liked reading the books first and then seeing how a show or movie does it. Watching films first often jades my later reading. The show is so good I want to be surprised but I think I’ll be surprised no matter what because they are taking season 2 a bit differently and less loyally than season 1 and book 1– but not by much. I prefer to keep reading at my pace and not have to follow the show, trying to compare this, that, and the other. Once I read ahead and the show follows me I’ll also have a better understanding of some of the underpinnings that maybe go unsaid/undone. I guess I’ll appreciate it more by reading on.

  2. Yah that’s how I usually feel but I’ve enjoyed being surprised by this show. I think I may compromise and stop after three just so I don’t get too far ahead.

Leave a Reply

